Online Safety
Cover Your Tracks Online
Browsing history is often stored on your device to make reloading websites faster, but this can put your safety at risk if someone checks your activity. Here’s how you can protect yourself:
The Quick Exit Button
We’ve added a “Quick Exit” button to every page on this site so you can quickly navigate away to a neutral site if needed. You can also press the Esc key. Please note that this does not clear your browsing history. You will need to take additional steps to erase it.
Clearing Your Browsing History
To hide your activity, clear your browser’s history or “cache,” which stores the most recently visited sites. After clearing the cache, we recommend visiting neutral websites (e.g., news, government, or entertainment sites) to leave non-suspicious entries in your browsing history.
Tips for Safer Browsing
Use Incognito Mode (Google Chrome)
- Webpages and files accessed in incognito mode are not saved in your browsing history.
- Cookies are deleted when you close all incognito windows.
- Any bookmarks or settings changes made will still be saved.
Other browsers have this too. It is called InPrivate in Edge, Private Browsing in Firefox and Safari, and Secret mode in Samsung Internet.
Delete Specific History Entries
- Google Chrome allows you to delete specific entries from your history, leaving your partner’s browsing intact.
Here are links to deleting browser history in other commonly used browsers.
- Google Chrome (computer)
- Google Chrome (Android)
- Google Chrome (iPhone or iPad)
- Microsoft Edge
- Firefox
- Safari (Mac)
- Safari (iPhone)
- Samsung Internet
Jessie’s House Crisis Line is answered 24 hours a day, every day.
Call 1-866-939-2850. Our Get Help page lists the other ways we can help.
Call 911 immediately if you are in danger.